Giving Banner
  cta: "#show-navobile",
  changeDOM: true

Coghlin Named NCAA Division III Men's Ice Hockey Coach of the Year

From Sports Information Director, March 31, 2011 | Men's Hockey
by Dan Lukes,, (920) 403-4077

GLOUCESTER, Mass. - St. Norbert College men's ice hockey coach Tim Coghlin has been named the recipient of the 2011 Edward Jeremiah Award, given annually to the NCAA Division III men's coach of the year. It is Coghlin's second Jeremiah Award, also winning it in 2008.

The award, chosen by members of the American Hockey Coaches Association, will be presented April 30 at the AHCA Convention in Naples, Fla.

Coghlin led the Green Knights to a 25-4-1 record in 2011 en route to claiming the school's second NCAA Division III national championship. St. Norbert won the NCAA Division III Frozen Four in Minneapolis March 25-26, topping defending champion Norwich 3-2 in the semifinals before beating Adrian 4-3 for the national championship.

Coghlin, a native of Summerland, British Columbia, owns a career record of 390-108-40 in 18 seasons in De Pere. St. Norbert has won 12 Northern Collegiate Hockey Association championships in the last 15 seasons, and has won nine NCHA Peters Cup titles in the last 14 years.

A two-time All-America selection at UW-Stevens Point, Coghlin captained the Pointers' first national championship team in 1989. Coghlin was the first person to play on and coach a Division III national champion.

The Edward Jeremiah Award is named in honor of the venerable Dartmouth College coach and was first presented in 1970.