Giving Banner
  cta: "#show-navobile",
  changeDOM: true

Green Knights Win Third Consecutive MWC Title

From Sports Information Director, May 13, 2017 | Women's Track & Field
by Dan Lukes,, (920) 403-4077

GALESBURG, Ill. - St. Norbert College won its third consecutive Midwest Conference championship by winning the Outdoor Track and Field Championship held at Knox College's Turner Track and Trevor Field.

The Green Knights posted 221 points to finish ahead of Monmouth College's 156 points. St. Norbert coach Don Augustine was named Coach of the Year, while Maddie LeBrun was named the MWC's Newcomer of the Year. Kelly Heniff also received the MWC Elite 20 Award for women's track.

LeBrun won the 400-meter dash with a time of 57.01 seconds and added a fourth-place showing in the 200-meter dash in 25.82 seconds.

The Green Knights took four of the top five spots in the 800-meter run. Brittany Kozlowski won the event with a time of 2:11.18, while Clarissa Jauregui was second at 2:12.91. Taylor Domro was fourth at 2:14.83, while Haley Joosten was fifth in 2:18.11.

Kozlowski also won the conference championship in the 1,500-meter run with a time of 4:35.62. Domro was second in 4:36.77 and Joosten was fifth at 4:50.40.

St. Norbert had four of the top six showings in the shot put. Kristina Herman won with a distance of 43 feet 1 inch. Savanna Smith was third at 38-9, while Hannah Kruse was fourth at 38-4 3/4. Mallory Nickerson was sixth at 37-4 1/2.

Nickerson won the conference discus championship with a distance of 136-5 1/2. Herman was second at 130-5, while Smith was fifth at 118-1.

Samantha Morateck won the conference title in the high jump with a height of 5-5. Brianna Alexander was fifth at 4-11, while Hayley Winzenried was seventh at 4-9.

Lisa Baeten was second in the 5,000-meter run with a time of 18:50.23, while Erin Artz was second in the 10,000-meter run in 40:55.16. Abby Janto was third in the 5K at 19:19.27. Tori Nelson and Heniff were fifth and sixth, respectively, in the 10K at 42:18.33 and 42:29.04.

Haidyn Mueller was second in the 100-meter hurdles in 15.13 seconds, while Teagan Wernicke was sixth in 15.86 seconds and Winzenried was seventh at 15.98 seconds. Wernicke was third in the 400-meter hurdles in 1:08.38, while Kaitlyn Hintz was seventh in 1:11.95 and Peyton McCauley eighth in 1:16.39.

Both St. Norbert relays finished in third place. Mekenzie Mattes, LeBrun, Erin Lang and Mueller won the 4x100-meter relay in 49.66 seconds. Joosten, Lang, LeBrun and Hintz claimed the 4x400-meter relay in 4:05.19.

Kirsten Carrigan was third in the pole vault at 9-8, while Grace Mickelson was fourth at 9-2 1/4. Lang was fourth in the long jump at 16-3 3/4, while Morateck was seventh at 15-7 1/2. Lang added a fourth place in the triple jump at 34-3.

Hailey Ruplinger was fourth in the 400-meter dash in 1:01.04. Sarah Parbs was fourth in the 3,000-meter steeplechase in 11:52.28, while Alyssa Wegner was eighth in 12:33.42.

Smith was fifth in the hammer throw at 134-11. Hintz was fifth in the javelin throw at 104-10, while Nickerson was sixth at 102-0. Lang was seventh, also at 102-0.

Mattes was eighth in the 100-meter dash in 13.00 seconds.