The Cassandra Voss Center provides a vibrant and collaborative learning environment for the study of women and gender, and enables cooperation of all persons in the creation of more just and inclusive communities.

Past Programs

2014-15

Date and Time Event Location

Friday, March 27, 2015

3-4:30 p.m.

Power Yak

Green Bay women leaders 'yak' with SNC female students

Cassandra Voss Center

Friday, March 6, 2015

3 p.m. 

Gender & Comics: The Hero you Think you Need

Prof. Anne Elizabeth Moore

Cassandra Voss Center

Wednesday, March 4, 2015

6-8 p.m.

Human Library

Students get to "read" human books!

Mulva Library

Friday, Feb. 27, 2015

3 p.m. 

SkypeTacular! Behind the Mask: (Re)Creating the first Asian-American Superhero

Gene Luen Yang

Cassandra Voss Center

Thursday, Feb. 19, 2015

11 a.m.-12:30 p.m.

Guitar Hero Workshop: Write Lyrics Like you Mean It

Carrie Newcomer

Cassandra Voss Center

Friday, Dec. 5, 2014

3 p.m. 

Flame On!': Nuclear Families, Unstable Molecules, and Queer History of 'The Fantastic Four.'

Dr. Ramzi Fawaz

Cassandra Voss Center

Friday, Nov. 7, 2014

3 p.m. 

“People of the Comic Book”: It’s a Man! Is He Jewish? It’s Supermensch!

Dr. Harry Brod

Cassandra Voss Center

Friday, Oct. 31, 2014

3 p.m.

SkypeTacular! “Ms. Marvel and the League of Marvel Women Speak”

Sana Amanat

N/A

Saturday, Sept. 13, 2014

10 a.m.-5 p.m.

SuperHero SuperFun Action Fest

SNC Day

Cassandra Voss Center

Friday, Sept. 12, 2014

3 p.m. 

SkypeTacular! "Super Black" Pop culture and Black Superheroes

Dr. Adilifu Nama

Ft. Howard Theatre

2013-14

Date and Time Event Location

Tuesday, May 20, 2014

Various Times

Cassandra Voss Center

power yak poster

HOME BASE

Guest appearances by players from the All American Girls Professional Baseball League

The Cassandra Voss partners with the Sport & Society Conference at St. Norbert College May 19-21 to bring you 

HOME BASE: Tuesday May 20

  • 10:30-11:30 a.m. All-American Girls Panel
  • 1:30-2:30 p.m. Open House with All-American Girls 
  • 4:30-5:30 p.m. “Little Leaguers” meet the All-American Girls
    A Kid's event open to all featuring Q&A, movie clip, a fun baseball card activity, and a special gift!

All Home Base events are free and open to the public! 

Friday, May 2, 2014

3 p.m.
Power Yak!
Keynote by Celestine Jeffreys, Networking Facilitated by CVC staff.
Cassandra Voss Center
Tuesday, April 15-17, 2014

Various times 
 bell hooks posteryear of bell hooks
In its inaugural year, the Cassandra Voss Center presents programs that celebrate bell hooks, the prolific scholar, social justice advocate, feminist and canonical writer, culminating with her visit to St. Norbert College.

bell hooks events

Lecture by bell hooks
Tuesday, April 15
7:30-9 p.m.
Walter Theatre

Sacred Hour presented by bell hooks
Wednesday, April 16
10 a.m.
Old St. Joe's

bell hooks reads her children’s books
Wednesday, April 16
4:15 p.m.
Cassandra Voss Center

More about bell hooks and the "year of bell hooks" events.
Tuesday, April 1, 2014

4:30 p.m.
Undergraduate Research Forum Presentation
Dr. George Yancy
Hendrickson Dining Room
Bemis International Center
Tuesday, April 1, 2014

7 p.m.
"Fear of Black Bodies and the Problem of Whiteness"
Lecture co-sponsored Killeen Chair & Cassandra Voss Center
Fort Howard Theatre
Bemis International Center
Wednesday, March 26, 2014
Prof, PJs and the Prez
A reading of children's books by bell hooks
Cassandra Voss Center
Thursday, March 13, 2014

7:30 p.m. 
Unlearning Homophobia
Talk by Billy Korinko '09
Cassandra Voss Center
Thursday, March 13, 2013

1 p.m.  
Writing Beyond Race
Book discussion led by Billy Korinko ’09
Cassandra Voss Center
Friday, Feb. 21, 2014

Trans 101
This series includes a book discussion with pizza and a public talk.
Cassandra Voss Center
Wednesday, Dec. 4, 2013

6-8:30 p.m.     
Reel to Real: "42: The Jackie Robinson Story"
A screening movie, discussion and treats
Cassandra Voss Center
Friday, Nov. 22, 2013 Lean In: Is that what it takes?
Book discussion
Cassandra Voss Center
Tuesday, Oct. 28, 2013 You Don't Know MACK[lemore]
An analysis. A contest. A response.
Cassandra Voss Center
Monday, Oct. 14, 2013

7:30 p.m. 
Making Masculinity: Men, masculinities, and a future without homophobia
An interactive historical look at how men & masculinity have been created throughout American history
Cassandra Voss Center
Friday, Oct. 11-13, 2013
 
The Will to Change: Men, Masculinity, and Love
Events related to men, masculinity and love.
Cassandra Voss Center
Saturday, Sept. 21, 2013

10 a.m.-5 p.m. Open House
11 a.m. talk 
Disrupting the Pink Aisle: Gender, Toys, & How We Play
The Midwest launch of GoldieBlox with a talk by GoldieBlox CEO Debbie Sterling.
Cassandra Voss Center
Friday, Sept. 20, 2013

3 p.m.
Build a Movement: How to Invent a Toy, Launch a Business, and Start a Revolution in 30 Days
A talk with GoldieBlox CEO Debbie Sterling.
Fort Howard Theater