Our honors students enjoy a rigorous, engaging and intellectually satisfying program.

Life Raft! Who Will You Save?

In the Life Raft! debate, we imagine that there has been a nuclear war, and the survivors (the audience) are setting sail to rebuild society from the ground up. There is a group of professors vying to get on the raft and only one seat is left. Each professor has to argue that his or her discipline is the one indispensable area of study that the new civilization will need to flourish. The Devil’s Advocate argues that the survivors are better off without anyone.

At the end of the debate, the audience votes and the lucky winner receives the coveted Life Raft! paddle. 

And...then there is cake!

Past Life Raft! Contestants

Corday Goddard – Leadership Studies
Charisse Levchak – Sociology
Joel Mann – Philosophy
Marc Schaffer – Economics (winner)
Kevin Quinn – The Devil's Advocate

Mark Glantz – Communication and Media Studies
John Frohliger  Mathematics
Chris Meidl – Teacher Education
Jamie O’Brien – Business Administration
Sarah Parks – Music
Becky McKean – The Devil’s Advocate (winner)


Becky McKean – Geology (winner)
Erik Brekke – Physics
Bob Kramer – History
Luis Navarro-Ayala – Modern Languages and Literatures
Jim Neuliep – Communication and Media Studies

David Hunnicutt – Biology (winner)
Laurie MacDiarmid – English
Ty Meidl – Teacher Education
Jim Neuliep – Communication and Media Studies
Kevin Quinn – Economics
Wendy Scattergood – The Devil’s Advocate