Visit room 219 to browse our children’s literature collection.

Children’s Literature

The children’s literature collection is housed in room 219 of the Mulva Library. Both fiction and nonfiction works from all genres are being collected, and there is a special emphasis on adding award-winning books.

The books are labeled and arranged in reading order, beginning with picture books, chapter books and middle readers and ending with young adult materials.

We invite you to browse some of our award winners, which include:

  • Boston Globe-Horn Book Award
    Winners are selected in three categories: picture book, fiction and poetry and nonfiction. These awards are among the most prestigious honors in the general field of children’s and young adult literature.
  • Caldecott Medal Award
    Awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children.
  • Charlotte Zolotow Honor Book
    The award is given annually to the author of the best picture book text published in the United States.
  • Coretta Scott King Award
    Outstanding African American authors and illustrators of books for children and young adults that demonstrate an appreciation of African American culture and universal human values.
  • Laura Ingalls Wilder Award
    Honors an author or illustrator whose books have made, over a period of years, a substantial and lasting contribution to literature for children.
  • Michael L. Printz Honor Book
    Annual award for young adult fiction.
  • Mildred L. Batchelder Award
    The Batchelder Award is given to the most outstanding children’s book originally published in a language other than English outside of the United States.
  • Nebula Award
    Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America awards the best novel, novella, novelette, and short story each year, and are not necessarily YA or Children’s literature.
  • Newberry Medal
    Awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children.
  • Pura Belpré Award
    The award is given annually to a Latino(a) writer and illustrator whose work best portrays, affirms and celebrates the Latino cultural experience.
  • Theodor Seuss Geisel Award
    Given annually to the author(s) and illustrator(s) of the most distinguished American book for beginning readers.
Curriculum Library
Our collection of teaching materials is also housed in room 219 of the Mulva Library. There are sample textbooks for all grades and subjects as well as other resources to support classroom instruction. These items are arranged according to the Dewey Decimal System.