St. Norbert College
St. Norbert College
(Students, faculty and staff) mySNC -
- -
- About SNC | A to Z Index | Directory -



3rd Annual Celebrating Service

Celebrating Service and Dedication of the Sturzl Center

Thursday, April 26, 2012 - Todd Wehr Hall Lobby

3:00 - 6:00 pm
Come and go as your schedule allows to view displays and talk with students about their service
3:30 pm and 4:30 pm
Presentations by the SIFE (Students in Free Enterprise) team of award winning community projects
5:00 - 5:30 pm
Program & Dedication of the Sturzl Center

About the Sturzl Center

Join us in honoring Ed and Ann Sturzl and thanking those who have provided the endowment at the 5:00 pm dedication of the Sturzl Center.

What is Celebrating Service?

The 3rd Annual "Celebrating Service" is a year-end event that  recognizes the good work done by SNC students in partnership with community organizations to build up the common good. Student volunteers will be presenting displays that represent the impact they have helped make in partnership with various community organizations. Attendees will have the opportunity to view display boards and converse with students about their service efforts between the times of 3:00-6:00 pm. Come and go as your schedule allows.

Who will be presenting their service?

The sections are being coordinated by both students and staff. Service-Area Coordinators have captured the impact and essence of their individual area of service by inviting select individuals to share their service experiences.

Service-Area Coordinators and Presenters
Academic Service-Learning:
Coordinated by Hannah Sternig
  • Megan Scapin: ENGL 329, Dr. Egan-Ryan
  • Emily Schudrowitz: Discoveries International, Dr. Joy Pahl
  • Joel Rodriguez:  Introduction to Operating System CSCI 370, Dr. Ravi Agarwal
  • LEAD 400, Dr. Shelly Mumma
  • BUAD 230, Dr. Jason Senjem

Youth-to-Youth Partnerships: Coordinated by Amie Arnoldussen and Leigh Smalley

Michels Service-Learning Residential Hall
Rob Trembinski, Director of Residential Education and Judicial Affairs    

  • Alexis Redig: Boys and Girls Club
  • Nichole Weirzba: YMCA
  • Alyssa Thermos: Howe
  • Nicole Hietpas: Aldo Leopold
  • Sasha Zwiefelhofer: Big Brothers, Big Sisters
  • Jenna DeYoung: Freedom House

Village Project
Dr. Reid Riggle, Associate Professor of Education

  • Andrea Howells: Eisenhower Elementary School
  • Lydia Hajet: Keller Elementary School
  • Taylor Seliger: Washington Middle School
  • Shelly Mleziva and Tess Botsford: Jefferson Elementary School
  • Brianna Klink: Danz Elementary School

  Vanessa Cuevas, Coordinator of Multicultural Student Success

  • Amie Bomber: Howe Neighborhood Family Resource Center and Fort Howard School

TRIPS: Coordinated by Justin Kluesner and Rebecca Sievers
  • TRIPS Alumni

Display boards created by Jessi Wightman:

  • Children's Medical Trip
  • Chicago Trip
  • New York Trip
  • Washington D.C. Trip

Philanthropy: Coordinated by Billy Falk
  • Cathleen Cotter: Up 'Til Dawn
  • Bryahna Rambo: Colleges Against Cancer
  • Alexis Achs: Zambia Project

Student Organizations: Coordinated by Cristi Burrill and Emily Disselhorst
  • Megan Scapin: SWEA
  • Missy Rebek: SWEA Pen Pals
  • Emily Collins: Habitat for Humanity
  • Cathleen Cotter: Kappa Beta Gamma
  • Patrick Pederson: Tau Kappa Epsilon
  • Taylor Connell: Theta Phi Alpha
  • Hannah Loppnow and Kathy Gordon: Optimist Club

Non-Profit Internships - Career Services: Coordinated by Erica DeQuaine

Non-Profit Internships - Human Services Program:
Coordinated by Callie Schroeder

     SOCI 481 Human Service Internship, Kim Kaczmarowski

  • Kelly Shaw: Preble High School-Counseling
  • Kaitlyn Wessing: Manorcare
  • Jenn Anacker: Brown County Human Resources

One-Time Events: Coordinated by Anna Spies
  • Leigh Smalley: Kids 2 Campus
  • Morgan Schell: MLK Day and Into the Streets
  • Danielle Brockert: Make A Difference Day
  • Zach Haney: Reduce, Reuse, Recycle
  • Tasha Thern and Emily Persyzk: Blood Drive

SIFE (Students in Free Enterprise) and Newman Fellow: Coordinated by Amy Diestler   

Norbertine Volunteer Community and Post Grad Service Recognition: Coordinated by Ellen Mommaerts

Ellen Mommaerts, Director for the Norbertine Volunteer Community  

Residential Education and Housing: Coordinated by Claire Westlie and Emily Hill
  • Claire Westlie: House of Hope & Sensenbrenner





Sturzl Center for Community Service & Learning

Phone: (920) 403-3374
Fax: (920) 403-4043

St. Norbert College • 100 Grant Street • De Pere, WI 54115-2099 • 920-337-3181