St. Norbert College
St. Norbert College
(Students, faculty and staff) mySNC -
- -
- About SNC | A to Z Index | Directory -


@St. Norbert

June 2010

share this article post this article on facebook tweet this article printable page

Professors recognized for teaching, service and scholarship

The college honored four professors at the Faculty Awards reception on April 23. The awards recognize distinguished contributions in teaching, community service and scholarship.

Deirdre Egan (English) and Thomas Bolin (Religious Studies) received the Leonard Ledvina Award for Excellence in Teaching. Wolfgang Grassl (Business Administration) received the Donald B. King Distinguished Scholar Award. Wendy Scattergood (Political Science) received the Bishop Robert F. Morneau Community Service Award.

Deirdre Egan Deirdre Egan (English)
The Leonard Ledvina Award for Excellence in Teaching

Deirdre Egan joined the faculty in 2005 and specializes in American literature. She teaches interdisciplinary courses that include Literature of Service and Harlem Renaissance. She also helped develop and teach Communio: A Liberal Arts Seminar. Egan’s respectful approach and use of multiple teaching strategies – panel discussions, films, free writing and field trips – have made her popular with students. Egan also was named Educator of the Year as part of the Norbertine Leadership and Service Awards.
Thomas Bolin Thomas Bolin (Religious Studies)
The Leonard Ledvina Award for Excellence in Teaching

Bolin brought his focus on Biblical studies to the college when he joined the faculty in 2000. He teaches undergraduate- and graduate-level Bible classes that include Ancient Wisdom and the Modern Search for Meaning, Elementary Biblical Hebrew and Ancient Israelite Theology. In course evaluations, students commend Bolin for his ability to express complex concepts clearly. They characterize him as “challenging yet understandable” and “open-minded and accessible.” One student appreciates Bolin for having “treated all of us like the adults we actually are.”
Wolfgang Grassl Wolfgang Grassl (Business Administration)
The Donald B. King Distinguished Scholar Award

While Grassl teaches marketing and international business, his scholarship spans several fields. His publications since 2008 alone cover Aquinas, Aristotle, Catholic social thought, micro-retailing and the history of European liberalism. He has earned international renown for his five books and monographs. Three more are in the works, including one on the intellectual profile of the Premonstratensians. Grassl has worked at colleges and universities in the United Kingdom, Austria, Germany and Jamaica. He also spent 13 years as an executive manager and entrepreneur.
Wendy Scattergood Wendy Scattergood (Political Science)
The Bishop Robert F. Morneau Community Service Award

Scattergood joined the faculty in 2000 and works on the Brown County Quality of Life Survey and the Wisconsin Survey. These polls give citizens and leaders insight on issues affecting the county and state. Scattergood spends untold hours each semester interpreting them for community groups and the media. She appears regularly on Wisconsin Public Radio and serves as a guest expert on many state and local issues. In addition, Scattergood plays cello with the Green Bay Symphony.

Office of Communications

Phone: (920) 403-3557
Fax: (920) 403-4010

St. Norbert College • 100 Grant Street • De Pere, WI 54115-2099 • 920-337-3181
W3C XHTML 1.0 Valid CSS!