Return-to-Campus at SNC

July 9, 2020

Dear Faculty, Staff and Students,

St. Norbert College is committed to facilitating a safe return to campus for students, faculty and staff. The college’s return-to-campus plan, published today, is the result of much work and careful collaboration both across campus and with local/regional public authorities. The plan identifies protocols for three phases that indicate a carefully managed progression from the extremely limited contact that we all experienced during Safer-at-Home to an eventual complete return to the new normal. Specific details of operations at each phase are also available, in this Phased Operational Plan overview.

Decisions to move between phases will be made in consultation with local public-health authorities and will be based on current virus activity at the college and within the city (De Pere), county (Brown) and state (Wisconsin).

As a community, we at SNC cherish our commitment to our common life together. This focus on the good of all means that care for one another during difficult times – even when we ourselves may not feel particularly at risk – is a natural extension of our mission. The Return-to-Campus plan lists critical protocols that will ensure the health and safety of all members of our campus community and their family members. Those protocols include:

  • Wearing face coverings.
  • Maintaining physical distancing.
  • Adopting enhanced cleaning measures.
  • Staying home when sick.
Before returning to campus, students, faculty and staff will review and acknowledge a checklist to confirm that they are symptom-free and that they have not been in contact with anyone diagnosed with COVID-19, and have not traveled internationally within the last 14 days. Everyone on campus, ongoing, will be required to conduct daily self-assessments for COVID-19 symptoms.

Dates for returning to campus
The college is currently operating in Phase 1, with students and many employees off-campus. We expect to move to Phase 2 on Monday, Aug. 3, on which date staff will return to their work on campus. Students will return to campus Aug. 17-20, staggering their move-in times to help maintain physical distancing during this high-traffic period. Any student who has a need to move in earlier than these dates should work with their coach or student-work supervisor as appropriate to obtain permission and make arrangements.

Here are the key dates to note:
  • Aug. 3 Employees return to work on campus. Please see the return-to-campus plan and these FAQs for more information.
  • Aug. 17-19 Sophomores, juniors and seniors who wish to move in early may make an appointment with their area coordinator to do so. (These dates may see lighter traffic and fewer delays as we continuously maintain physical distancing during Move-In).
  • Aug. 20 First-Year Move-In
  • Aug. 21 Sophomore, Junior, Senior Move-In
  • Aug. 23 Convocation and Mass of the Holy Spirit
  • Aug. 29 Commencement 2020 (virtual)
As always, please monitor email and for new information. Supervisors, please communicate proactively with staff who may not have regular access to email.


The Return Students to Campus Working Group
Autumn Anfang (Business & Finance)
Jenn Bonds-Raacke (Academic Affairs)
Julie Massey (Student Affairs)
Chrystal Woller (Health Services)
Eric Dunning (Campus Safety)
Jamie Lynch (Academic Affairs)
Tim Bald (Academic Affairs)
Melissa DaPra (Dining Services)
Shelly Mumma (Student Affairs)
Lauren Gaecke (Academic Affairs)
Greg Greetan (Business & Finance)
LeRoy Korntved (Facilities)
Dave Nalepka (Risk Management)
Rick Warpinski (Auxiliary Services)
Nina Rouse (Communications)
Krissy Lukens (ITS)
John Seckel (Campus Center)
Kristin Vogel (Academic Affairs)
Mark Selin (Admissions)
Joe Totman (Housing)
Mike Van Drisse (Facilities)

The Return to Work Working Group
Jon Enslin (College Advancement)
Chrystal Woller (Health Services)
Rick Warpinski (Auxiliary Services)
Sue Brinkman (Human Resources)
Lauren Gaecke (Academic Affairs)
Paul Mashl (Academic Affairs)
Nina Rouse (Communications)
Matt Stollak (Faculty Representative)
Patrick Wrenn (Facilities)
Scott Crevier (ITS)
Julie Massey (Student Affairs)