Giving Banner
  cta: "#show-navobile",
  changeDOM: true

Coghlin Named NCAA Division III Men's Ice Hockey Coach of the Year

From Sports Information Director, April 2, 2008 | Men's Hockey
by Dan Lukes,, (920) 403-4077

GLOUCESTER, Mass. - St. Norbert College men's ice hockey coach Tim Coghlin has been named the recipient of the 2008 Edward Jeremiah Award, given annually to the NCAA Division III men's coach of the year.

The award, chosen by members of the American Hockey Coaches Association, will be presented April 26 at the AHCA Convention in Naples, Fla.

Coghlin skippered the Green Knights to a 27-1-4 record in 2008, the best record in school history and the lowest loss total ever for any Division III national champion. St. Norbert swept through the NCAA Division III Frozen Four in Lake Placid, N.Y., in unprecedented fashion, winning both games by shutout. The Green Knights beat Norwich 3-0 on March 22 in the national semifinal, and then beat Plattsburgh State 2-0 the next day for the national title.

Coghlin, a native of Summerland, British Columbia, owns a career record of 322-92-35 in 15 seasons in De Pere. St. Norbert has won 10 Northern Collegiate Hockey Association championships in the last 12 seasons, and has won seven NCHA Peters Cup titles in the last 11 years.

A two-time All-America selection at UW-Stevens Point, Coghlin captained the Pointers' first national championship team in 1989. Coghlin is the first person to play on and coach a Division III national champion.

The Edward Jeremiah Award is named in honor of the venerable Dartmouth College coach and was first presented in 1970.

Back To Top