Giving Banner
  cta: "#show-navobile",
  changeDOM: true

St. Norbert Hall of Fame Banquet Set for October 5

From Sports Information Director, September 26, 2013 |
by Dan Lukes,, (920) 403-4077

DE PERE - The St. Norbert College Department of Intercollegiate Athletics 2014 Hall of Fame Class will be inducted on campus Saturday, October 5.

Inductees include hockey players Tommy Cianflone and Maris Ziedins, men's track and field athlete Ben Dreyer, women's track and field/cross country athlete and coach Nancy Gritt and football player Jerimiah Janssen. Longtime broadcaster Tim Derozier will also receive a Hall of Fame Allegiance Award.

Cianflone, a 2000 graduate, was a first-team All-America selection in 2000 and a second-team All-America choice in 1999. He is the only defenseman in St. Norbert history to average more than 1.00 points per game, and still holds the school record for points in a season with 39. Cianflone, who graduate from St. Norbert in three years, has been an assistant coach at his alma mater since 2008.

Ziedins, a 2003 graduate, earned the Sid Watson Award -- given to the NCAA Division III Player of the Year -- in 2003. Ziedins, who was a first-team All-America choice in 2002 and 2003, also played in the 2006 Winter Olympics in Turin, Italy with his native Latvia. Ziedins is second on the St. Norbert career goals scored list with 74 and is third in career scoring with 145 points.

Dreyer, a 2003 graduate, became St. Norbert men's track's first NCAA Division III national champion by winning the outdoor 400 meters in 2001 and 2002. He was a four-time All-American in the outdoor 400, one of only four athletes in Division III history to do so. Dreyer finished as a 10-time All-American overall and also participated in the 2002 U.S. Outdoor Track and Field Championships.

Gritt, a 1992 graduate, earned four letters each in track and cross country and was team captain of both squads her senior year. Gritt earned two Midwest Conference championships in the indoor 800-meter run, and helped the Green Knights to indoor and outdoor MWC titles in 1989, 1990 and 1991. Gritt coached St. Norbert women's cross country to conference championships in 2002 and 2003.

Janssen, a 2001 graduate, was named to the All-Decade first team in 2011 after a stellar career at linebacker. Janssen was named Associated Press first-team Little All-America in 2001 and was second team in 2000. He was a first-team All-America choice by the AFCA,, Hewlett-Packard and Football Gazette in 2000 and 2001. Janssen was Midwest Conference Defensive Player of the Year in 2000 and 2001.

Derozier, a 1995 graduate, has broadcast St. Norbert men's ice hockey from 1993 to the present. He has called all three of St. Norbert's NCAA Division III national championship victories, as well as six national title games and eight Frozen Fours. Derozier has also broadcast football from 2004 to 2007 and again from 2010 to the present.

The Class of 2014 brings the total enshrined in the St. Norbert Athletics Hall of Fame to 134 persons. The Hall of Fame Induction Banquet will be held on the evening of Saturday, October 5 at 7 p.m. in the Michels Ballroom on the St. Norbert campus. For banquet tickets or other Hall of Fame information, call (920) 403-3031.