Giving Banner
  cta: "#show-navobile",
  changeDOM: true

Coghlin To Be Inducted Into Wisconsin Hockey Hall of Fame

From Asst. AD/Athletics Communications, August 23, 2017 | Men's Hockey
by Dan Lukes,, (920) 403-4077

DE PERE - St. Norbert College hockey coach Tim Coghlin will be inducted into the 2017 class of the Wisconsin Hockey Hall of Fame.

Coghlin is one of two inductees in the Hall of Fame's 2017 class, joining John Kennedy of Franklin at the enshrinement banquet to be held Saturday, Sept. 9 in Eagle River at Eagle Waters Resort.

Coghlin has built the St. Norbert hockey program into a national powerhouse in his quarter century in De Pere.

Coghlin's teams have totaled a 529-138-52 record in his 24 seasons behind the Green Knights' bench. St. Norbert has appeared in 17 NCAA Division III Tournaments since 1997, highlighted by its national championships in 2008, 2011, 2012 and 2014. The Green Knights have made 11 Frozen Four appearances, and placed as national runner-up in 2004, 2006, 2010 and 2016. Coghlin's eight national title game appearances as a head coach is the second-most in NCAA Division III history.

Over the past 21 seasons, St. Norbert has registered an outstanding 498-102-44 ledger which includes 15 NCHA regular-season championships and 13 NCHA post-season titles. Coghlin's teams have been especially tough to beat at home since moving into the Cornerstone Community Center in 2000, going a robust 230-30-12 on home ice during the 17 years the Green Knights have occupied the building.

Player development has also been one of Coghlin's fortes. Four of his players -- Rob Smillie in 1999, Maris Ziedins in 2003, Kyle Jones in 2008 and David Jacobson in 2014 -- have won the prestigious Sid Watson Award, given to the top player in small-college hockey each year. Ziedins also went on to represent his native Latvia in the 2006 Winter Olympics.

Coghlin has also been active in youth hockey in the metro Green Bay area, and his popular camps are well attended each summer.

No stranger to success as a player, he captained UW-Stevens Point's first NCAA Division III championship team in 1989 and was an assistant coach with the Pointers when they won the national title in 1993 and finished runner-up in 1992.

Coghlin was a two-time All-America selection as a defenseman and three-time All-NCHA selection at Stevens Point, where he was inducted into the school's athletic Hall of Fame and ranks among the Pointers' all-time scoring leaders.

Following his collegiate career, Coghlin signed with the Vancouver Canucks and played briefly with the Milwaukee Admirals in 1989. He injured his shoulder in training camp the next season and joined the Fife Flyers of the British Premier League as a player and assistant coach.

Coghlin resides in Suamico with his wife, Barb, son, Joseph, and daughter, Faith.

The Wisconsin Hockey Hall of Fame was founded in 1975 and is housed in the Eagle River Arena. The Wisconsin Hockey Hall of Fame was established to honor outstanding individuals responsible for the development and success of amateur ice hockey in the State of Wisconsin.

The event in Eagle River includes a golf tournament, banquet and the induction ceremony. All events are open to the public, but advance reservations are required. Questions about tickets can be directed to John Hack at 218-391-2301 or by email to, or to Pat Weber at 715-479-8912.

Back To Top