Giving Banner
  cta: "#show-navobile",
  changeDOM: true

St. Norbert Claims Sixth Straight, 12th Overall MWC Indoor Championship

From Asst. AD/Athletics Communications, February 29, 2020 | Women's Track & Field
by Dan Lukes,, (920) 403-4077

GRINNELL, Iowa - St. Norbert College dominated the second day of competition at the Midwest Conference Indoor Track & Field Championship at Grinnell College's Bear Athletic Center to earn its sixth consecutive and 12th overall MWC indoor title.

The Green Knights rolled up 183 points, easily outdistancing runner-up Monmouth College's 123 1/2 points. Ripon College was in third place with 103 1/2 points.

St. Norbert gained a pair of individual titles. Joyana Tarsa won her second individual title of the weekend, claiming the 800-meter run in a time of 2:20.57 after winning the 1-mile run on Friday. Maddie LeBrun took home a first-place finish in the 400-meter run with a time of 57.34 seconds after being a part of a conference title quartet in the 1,600-meter sprint medley on Friday. LeBrun added a second-place finish in the 200-meter dash in 25.89 seconds.

Audrey Makope finished in second place in the 60-meter dash at 7.82 seconds. Daijah Brown was second in the 400-meter dash at 58.52 seconds and eighth in the 200-meter dash at 26.55 seconds, and was named MWC Newcomer of the Year following the meet. Lauren Rottier was second in the high jump at 5 feet 0 1/4 inches, with Emmy Larson following in third place and Sydney Spaeth in fourth place - both at 4-10 1/4.

Kelley Gardipee was third in the 800-meter run in 2:22.63, while Claire VanBeek was sixth at 2:25.42. Brianne Barta, Nya Nazario, Sarah Wiseman and Morgan McClone finished in third in the 4x400-meter relay at 4:08.12.

Barta was fourth in the 400-meter dash in 1:00.68, with McClone following in fifth at 1:01.31. Katherine Wanie finished in fourth place in the 60-meter hurdles at 9.37 seconds, followed by Kacey Topp in fifth at 9.50 seconds and Anna Giblin in sixth at 9.65 seconds. Spaeth was fourth in the triple jump at 35-5, followed by Larson in seventh at 34-4 1/4.

Lauren Talabac, Nazario, Tatiana Johnson and Carolyn Neerdaels finished in fifth place in the distance medley relay at 13:28.73. Emma Sweere was sixth in the weight throw at 47-0 1/4.

Coach Don Augustine was named Midwest Conference Coach of the Year.

Back To Top