Giving Banner
  cta: "#show-navobile",
  changeDOM: true
Mobile Menu Icon

2010 St. Norbert College Literary Award winners announced

Facebook / Tweet

From St. Norbert College, May 3, 2010
by Chelsey Gruetzmacher,, (920) 403-3089

The St. Norbert College English department hosted its annual Literary Awards April 29.

Students submitted original works under the categories of creative prose, critical essay, and poetry. The Mary McHale Wood Endowed Award for Excellence in Writing was also presented. The winners were:

Creative Prose:
1st place: "The Droll Haircut," Kim Hansen ('11), Rosemount, Minn.

2nd place: "Rooms," Chris Connors ('10), Cedarburg, Wis.

1st place: "Lying Through Her Teeth," "Of One Mind," "A Survivor's Confession," "Happier," Paige Caulum ('11), Portage, Wis.

2nd place: "Autumn," "Popup," "Monotonous," Matt Bougie ('10), Friendship, Wis.

Honorable Mention: "Talking," "xyz," "Great Books Club," "The Caustics," "The Pyramid Stick," Camron Jalayerian ('11), Lombard, Ill.

Critical Essay:
1st place: "Racial Revolutions: The Evolving Image of the Black Individual in Herman Melville's 'Benito Cereno,'" Claire Dailey ('11), Minocqua, Wis.

2nd place: "Gender and Social Identity in William Faulkner's 'Rose for Emily,'" Kellie Herson ('11), De Pere, Wis.

English Endowed Awards:
Paige Caulum ('11), Portage, Wis.
Samantha Christian ('11), Watertown, Wis.

The Mary McHale Wood Endowed Scholarship for Excellence in Writing:
Kellie Herson ('11), De Pere, Wis.

The Mac Award:
Kate Botsford ('10), Waukesha, Wis.

For more information on the 2010 St. Norbert College Literary Awards, contact Laurie MacDiarmid at 920-403-3498 or

To Top Arrow