Giving Banner
  cta: "#show-navobile",
  changeDOM: true
Mobile Menu Icon

St. Norbert College English Discipline Announces Literary Award Winners

Facebook / Tweet

From St. Norbert College, May 4, 2015
by Mike Counter,, 920-403-3089

The St. Norbert College English discipline held its annual Literary Awards on Thursday, April 23. During the event, senior English students presented readings of their work, after which professor Laurie MacDiarmid presented the awards for achievement in writing. Awards were given out for remarkable works in the categories of creative prose and poetry, as judged by members of the English faculty. The awards also included the Mary McHale Wood Award for Excellence in Writing and the Junior English Award, each of which is given out to one junior English student a year in recognition of overall accomplishment in writing. A full list of awards and their recipients is below.

Creative Prose: Judged by Ed Risden and Drew Scheler
First Place: "Adam's Orchard," Amy Mrotek (Milwaukee, Wis.)
Second Place: "A Song for the Ascent," Peter Dahl (Sturgeon Bay, Wis.)

Poetry: Judged by John Pennington and Deirdre Egan-Ryan
First Place: "Afloat," Peter Dahl
Second Place: "algae contrails," Will Paplham (De Pere, Wis.)
Honorable Mention: "Transatlantic," Grace Petry (Sugar Grove, Ill.)

The Mary McHale Wood Award for Excellence in Writing: Erich Wegenke (Sun Prairie, Wis.)

The Junior English Award: Amy Mrotek

For more information on the Literary Awards and the St. Norbert College English discipline, contact

To Top Arrow