Giving Banner
  cta: "#show-navobile",
  changeDOM: true
Mobile Menu Icon

St. Norbert College English Discipline Announces 2019 Literary Award Winners

Facebook / Tweet

From St. Norbert College, May 3, 2019
by Hailey Barron,, (920)-403-3089

The St. Norbert College English discipline held its annual Literary Awards on Tuesday, April 30. During the event, English students presented readings of their work, after which Laurie MacDiarmid, professor of English at St. Norbert College, presented the awards for achievement in writing. Awards were given out for remarkable works
in the categories of creative prose, critical essay and poetry, as judged by members of the English faculty. The awards also included the Mary McHale Wood Award for Excellence in Writing, which is awarded to one junior English student each year in recognition of overall accomplishment in writing. A full list of awards and their
recipients is below.


First Place, $300: “Letters from the Duke, or, Dehumanization in Six Easy Steps,” Noah Smits (Kaukauna, Wis.) Second Place, $100: “The Opportunity of a Lifetime,” Joshua Leach (Mauston, Wis.)
Honorable Mention: “Living Memories,” Katie Hopkins (De Pere, Wis.)
Critical Essay on Literature
First Place, $300: “The Unbecoming of Helga Crane: The Black Female Body in Larsen’s Quicksand, Known and Owned by the Cultural Male Gaze,” Kodee Zarnke (Amherst, Wis.) Second Place, $100: “This is Not a Story to Pass On: Morrison on the Damage Done to Black Female Identity by the Enforced Western Separation of Mind over Body,” Katie Hopkins (De Pere, Wis.)

First Place, $300: “Ash Wednesday,” Elynor Gregorich (Greenwood, Wis.) Second Place, $100: “Moonlit Fishing,” Trenton Bebermeier (Kiel, Wis.) Honorable Mentions: “Houseplant,” Elynor Gregorich (Greenwood, Wis.) and “Equinox,” Nicholas Surprise (Wautoma, Wis.)
Mary McHale Wood Award for Excellence in Writing
$1,000, Taylor Froelich (Casco, Wis.) For more information about the Literary Awards and the St. Norbert College English discipline, contact

To Top Arrow