Caption Arrow

Committee on Equity, Diversity and Inclusion (CEDI)

Committee History
President Emeritus Tom Kunkel convened the first CEDI meeting on Dec. 5, 2008 with the charge to advise the president and the president’s cabinet on matters of equity, diversity, and inclusion at St. Norbert College, recognizing that this is the responsibility of the entire college community. The committee was asked to develop the terms of its membership, with staggered terms of service to ensure continuity. The committee accepted its charge and agreed to perform as an activist body, supporting equity, diversity and inclusion at St. Norbert College and communicating to the campus community through CEDI’s unified voice.

Committee Purpose
The committee advises the president on initiatives, programs and policies related to diversity on campus and, in particular, recruitment and retention of faculty, staff and students belonging to historically underrepresented groups; curriculum; campus climate; and creation of an inclusive learning and work environment. The committee will advocate for best practices and appropriate policies, especially as they relate to race, ethnicity, age, sexual orientation, gender, socioeconomic status, religion and physical ability.  

The committee will monitor campus progress on diversity, make recommendations to the president on goals and policies that reflect diversity, equity and inclusion, and otherwise work with the president as directed on these issues. The committee will adopt subcommittees and operating practices as it sees fit. The senior advisor for diversity and inclusion will serve as the CEDI coordinator. 

Committee Membership
The membership on the Committee of Equity, Diversity & Inclusion consists of:

  • Appointed and elected faculty members
  • Appointed and elected salaried and hourly employees
  • Appointed and elected student representatives
  • Appointed member representing the Norbertine community
  • Appointed member representing the board of trustees
Ex-officio members of the committee:
  • The vice president of mission and student affairs and dean of students
  • The vice president of academic affairs and dean of the college
  • The director of human resources
  • The senior advisor for diversity and inclusion

CEDI Committee Meeting - Spring 2019 Dates

  • 3-4:30 p.m., Monday, Jan. 28. Todd Wehr Hall - Heritage Room 206
  • 3-4:30 p.m., Monday, Feb. 25. Bemis 20CD
  • 3-4:30 p.m., Monday, March 25. Bemis 20CD
  • 3-4:30 p.m., Monday, April 29. Bemis 20CD
Back To Top Arrow