The Sturzl Center for Community Service & Learning supports and develops the college’s mission to serve the common good by fostering campus-wide discussion on service, promoting community engagement and recognizing significant contributions to serving the common good in Brown County and beyond.

Faculty Fellows for Community Engagement

Faculty fellows for community engagement meet throughout the academic year in a learning community that seeks to:

  • Improve student learning and reinvigorate teaching through innovative pedagogies.
  • Enhance a supportive teaching community through shared faculty discussion.
  • Encourage deep thinking on the scholarship of teaching and learning.

With monthly readings and discussions, each fellow develops or revises a course or project that enhances student learning and strengthens campus-community partnerships. 

Applications for the 2015-16 Fellowship Class are now open. Full-time, tenure track faculty are invited to apply by April 2, 2015.

Information and Application for the 2015-16 Faculty Fellows for Community Engagement


Mara BrechtMara Brecht
Assistant Professor of Religious Studies

Erik BrekkeErik Brekke
Assistant Professor of Physics

Benjamin ChanBenjamin Chan
Assistant Professor of Philosophy

Howard EbertHoward Ebert
Associate Professor of Religious Studies
Director of M.T.S. and M.L.S.

Anna HermanAnna Herrman
Assistant Professor of Communication and Media Studies

Laurie MacDiarmidLaurie MacDiarmid
Professor of English

Katie RiesKatherine Ries
Assistant Professor of Art

Drew SchelerDrew Scheler
Assistant Professor of English
Director of Writing Across the Curriculum 



Ravi AgarwalRavi Agarwal
Director of Enterprise Applications

John DayJohn Day
Assistant Professor of Modern Languages and Literatures

Brad EllisBrad Ellis
Assistant Professor of Modern Languages and Literatures

Hyang Sook KimHyang Sook Kim
Assistant Professor of Communication and Media Studies

Jamie O’BrienJamie O’Brien
Assistant Professor of Business Administration

Robert OsgoodRobert Osgood
Chair of Teacher Education