Caption Arrow

Natural Sciences

The division of natural sciences consists of eight academic disciplines:

In addition, programs are offered in pre-professional areas such as:

In addition to theses programs, a divisional major is available for students seeking a broader range of courses in the natural sciences in order to make course selections based on the requirements of a professional school. Taken as a whole, the disciplinary offerings allow you to achieve confidence as a self-educating person. Through interaction with faculty and peers, you’ll be able to identify and pursue your own personal goals.

Faculty Perspective

Two grants totalling $1.5 million will boost research and provide new opportunities for science majors at St. Norbert. A $998,759 grant announced earlier this month will provide scholarships for 18 students pursuing degrees in STEM felds, and a separate $510,000 grant shared by professors at two institutions will fund research focused ultimately on developing new and exotic materials for specific applications. Both grants come from the National Science Foundation (NSF).

Jenn Bonds-Raacke (Academic Affairs) notes the attention these announcements bring to science education at the college: “Both grants are a recognition of the high quality research and teaching in the sciences at St. Norbert. The grants demonstrate the commitment our faculty have to mentoring and developing SNC students as scientists.”

Read the Story

Faculty Highlight

Anindo Choudhury, professor or biology and environmental sciences, is the associate editor for the parasitic flatworms section of the Journal of Parasitology, the official journal of the American Society of Parasitologists. In addition, Choudhury serves on the editorial board of Folia Parasitologica, the parasitology journal of the Czech Academy of Sciences, and is on the editorial board of Acta Parasitologica, the parasitology journal of the Polish Academy of Sciences. Choudhury’s research on host-parasite relationships, which spans North and Central America, has resulted in 42 peer-reviewed journal articles, seven book chapters, five technical reports and manuals and 41 conference presentations.
Back To Top Arrow